Leyland SME: Programme of events for 2017. (V3)

Meetings held at The Conservative Club, Farington, Leyland at 20.00 hr's

NB: The dates of some of these events are provisional! Double check before making a long journey.

Thursday 5th January Annual General Meeting.
Sunday 8th January Alick‘s 80th Birthday Hot Pot Party (LSME Members & Guests)
Thursday 19th January Springs Night — coil, leaf, bed, hot — anything ”boing•related
Sunday 29th January Visitors - The Branch Line Society 09.30 hrs + Bacon Butts!
Thursday 2nd February Up-cycling Night — Items you saved from the bin and re-used
Thursday 9th February Committee Meeting
Thursday 16th February Austin 7 Barn Find — a short talk by Frank Parsons
Saturday/Sunday 18th/19thth February MMEX Manchester - NAME Model Engineering Exhibition,Queen Elizabeth Hall, Oldham
Thursday 2nd March Project Night - Members latest work on display
Sunday 5th March Boiler Testing Day down at the track
Tuesday 14th March Pie Tuesday. What it says on the tin...
Thursday 16th March President‘s Trophy - award to best non-steam item on the night.
Thursday 30th March Painting Hints and Tips (fences and ceilings are excluded!!)
Thursday 13th April Bring & Buy — ignore the quality — enjoy the mass!
F.S.S.M. 14/15/16/17th April Easter Weekend — lots of locos and lots of members please!
Sunday 23th April National 3½" Gauge Rally — Bacon Butties 12.00 - 14.00 hrs.
Thursday 27th April Table Top Talks - Odd Numbered Tables (10 minutes on anything)
Hol Mon 1st May May Day Holiday - Loads o' folks, so lots of locos please.
Thursday 11th May Lubricators Night — Ratchet, Hydrostatic, Clutch Driven —
Sunday 14th May Afternoon Track Visit from the NGLS to Worden Park (Chris Roberts)
Thursday 18th May Committee Meeting.
Saturday 20th May LNER themed day —refreshments available
Thursday 25th May Clocks, Watches and things that tick at Night — members
Monday. 29th May Spring Bank Holiday - Loads o' folks, so lots of locos please.
Saturday/Sunday 3/4th June Malt Kiln Farm Steam Rally (was Heskin)— LSME supports.
Thursday 8th June Members LEYLEC — 12.00 onwards all day + Fish & Chips tea
Saturday 10th June GWR Rally and all things Brunel - refreshments available
Thursday 22nd June Project Night - members latest efforts on display
Saturday 1st July Driver training. Bring your own lunch and make a day of it
Thursday 6th July Milling — Hints, Tips and first aidŒŒ.
Fri/Sat/Sun 7/8/9th July IMLEC 2017 at Southport MES
Saturday 15th July LMS Themed Day - refreshments available.
Thursday 20th July Peter Hodkinson - a short talk on ”Made in Lancashire•
Saturday 22nd July Lionsmeet - OLCO gathering - all things Titfield Thunderbolt.
Thursday 3rd August Pumps Night — Hand pumps, axle pumps, oil pumps but no plimsolls!
Sat/Sun 12/13th August Open Invitation Weekend + Traction Attraction + refreshments on both days
Thursday 17th August Things I‘ve added to my lathe Night — Members efforts
Thursday 24th August Committee meeting
Monday 28th August Summer Bank Holiday - Loads o' folks, so lots of locomotives please.
Thursday 31st August Project Night - Members latest work on display.
Saturday 2nd September Driver training — bring your own lunch and make a day of it.
Thursday 14th September Bring and Buy - bargains by the barrow full or woeful....
Fri/Sat/Sun 22/23/24th September Seven and a Quarter Gauge Society AGM at Burnley.
Saturday 23rd September Rolling Stock Rally, time to go slow — Pie and Peas 12:00 til 13:00hrs
Thursday 28th September Table Top Talks - Even Numbered Tables (10 minutes on anything)
Sunday 1st October Boiler Testing Day
Saturday and Sunday 7/ 8th October English Electric Sat + Alan P‘s Diesel Day Sun + ”Eats• on both days
Thursday 12th October An old favourite returns — Cock-Up Night — just what it says on the tin!
Thursday 26th October How to set and get, your valves right tight night — Members tips.
Thursday 9th November How to shape things by hand Night — craftsmanship for beginners
Thursday 16th November Committee Meeting.
Thursday 23th November Stick Together Night - Hints and tips on soldering, glue and welding
Thursday 7th December Project Night - Members latest work on display.
Monday 11th December Annual Christmas Dinner.
Thursday 21st December Little clips of yesteryear, the camera time machine looks back at LSME
Tuesday 26th December Boxing Day Mince Pie & Steam Up.
Monday 1st January Chairman's Run - The Committee let the New Year in down at the track.
Thursday 4th January Annual General Meeting.

Back to our index page. What is model engineering?. About the Society.
Recent Developments. How to find us in Leyland. Picture Gallery.
Links to other sites.Hints and TipsSafety Valves:

Page updated 22/02/2017